lahascanner.blogg.se

India arie songs about beauty
India arie songs about beauty






in her song when she protests “it's not what's on your head, it's what's underneath.” I concur. When The CROWN Act (Create A Respectful and Open World for Natural Hair) passed, I was very encouraged as it protects people of color against hair discrimination in schools and the workplace, but it has only been enacted in 12 of the 50 states, so there are still many miles to go with this movement, but progress is being made.Īrie echoes Martin Luther King, Jr. After receiving my MBA from Pepperdine, where I was the only Black student in my cohort, I was told by career counselors and coaches that I had to cut off all of my hair in order to rise in corporate America. 'Cause success didn't come till I cut it all off” 'Cause corporate wouldn't hire no dreadlocks… Grammy award-winning artist, India Arie and Motown have pioneered countless songs promoting Black beauty including Arie’s song, “Brown Skin” that precedes “I Am Not My Hair.” I really enjoy her personal explanation of her journey on this track, highlighting the internal struggles in the Black community about what defines “good hair” versus “bad hair,” while also underscoring White America’s misconceptions of Black, ethnocentric hairstyle stereotypes. India Arie – “I Am Not My Hair (Featuring Akon)” This year, I am taking the opportunity to highlight six songs by Black musical artists that help redefine Black beauty for a new generation of listeners. In addition to overseeing Beautytap’s digital operations, Cliff Beach is also an award-winning musician.Īs a Black musician/radio DJ and a beauty industry veteran now at Beautytap, bridging the worlds of Black and Beauty for this spotlight during February’s all too short Black History Month is sweet music to my ears. Walker (the inventor of popular hair products) and the hardest working man in show business, James Brown exclaiming “Say It Loud, I’m Black and I’m Proud” while quieting would be riots in Boston after Martin Luther King Jr.’s assassination, the struggle for Black beauty has always been real.

india arie songs about beauty india arie songs about beauty india arie songs about beauty

Featuring India Arie, Akon, D’Angelo, Erykah Badu, Ben Harper, Alicia Keys, Brandi Carlile, Robert Glasper, and…īefore the days of the self-made, Black, female millionaire, Madame C.J.








India arie songs about beauty